Citizenship ceremonies

​​​​​​​​​Becoming a New Zealand Citizen

Applications to become a New Zealand citizen must be made to the Department of Internal Affairs.  You can find information on this process on their website or phone them on 0800 22 51 51.

The Department of Internal Affairs will communicate with you throughout your application process including the date for your official citizenship ceremony.

The citizenship ceremony

This public ceremony is a very important step in the process of becoming a New Zealand citizen. It is an opportunity for you to publicly declare your allegiance to our country and for our local community to welcome you on behalf of all New Zealanders.

At the ceremony you will stand before the Mayor or Deputy Mayor and take the Oath or Affirmation of Allegiance, declaring you will honour Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II, Queen of New Zealand; obey the laws of New Zealand and be a good citizen. After this formality, you will be presented with your citizenship certificate.

Doors open 45 minutes before the start of the ceremony. Please ensure you are on time. If you arrive once the ceremony has already started you will not be allowed to enter.

The citizenship ceremony will take approximately 75mins and is followed by light refreshments. We encourage you to come dressed in your national costume. Make sure you bring your camera along as we encourage friends and family to take lots of photos during the ceremony​

2017 citizenship ceremony dates

Please note that dates are subject to change.

Hamilton Gardens Pavilion map

​DATE​TIME​LOCATION
​Tuesday 7 February​1.00pm​Hamilton Gardens Pavilion
​Friday 10 March ​1.00pm​Hamilton Gardens Pavilion
Monday 3 April​​1.00pm​Hamilton Gardens Pavilion
Monday 22 May​​1.00pm​Hamilton Gardens Pavilion
Friday 23 June​​1.00pm ​Hamilton Gardens Pavilion
Friday 28 July​​1.00pmHamilton Gardens Pavilion
Friday 25 August​1.00pm​Hamilton Gardens Pavilion
​Thursday 14 September​1.00pm​​Hamilton Gardens Pavillion
Friday 15 September ​​1.00pm​Hamilton Gardens Pavilion
Monday 16 October ​​1.00pm​Hamilton Gardens Pavilion
​Monday 27 November​1.00pm​Hamilton Gardens Pavilion
​Wednesday 29 November​1.00pm​​Hamilton Gardens Pavilion
Friday 15 Decemb​er​1.00​pm​​Hamilton Gardens Pavilion


2018 citizenship ceremony dates

Please note that dates are subject to change.

Hamilton Gardens Pavilion map

​DATE​TIME​LOCATION
Friday 9 February​1.00pm​Hamilton Gardens Pavilion
​Monday 12 March​1.00pm​Hamilton Gardens Pavilion
​Monday 9 April​1.00pm​Hamitlon Gardens Pavilion
​Monday 14 May​1.00pm​Hamilton Gardens Pavilion
​Monday 18 June​1.00pm​Hamilton Gardens Pavilion
​Monday 30 July ​1.00pm​Hamilton Gardens Pavilion
​Monday 27 August​1.00pm​Hamilton Gardens Pavilion
​Friday 7 September​1.00pm​Hamilton Gardens Pavilion
​Monday 29 October​1.00pm​Hamilton Gardens Pavilion
​Monday 19 November​1.00pm​Hamilton Gardens Pavilion
​Monday 3 December​1.00pm​​Hamilton Gardens Pavilion

Further information

For any enquires about the status of your application or date of your ceremony, please contact the Department of Internal Affairs directly on 0800 22 51 51.​​​​

Page reviewed: 14 Nov 2017 4:06pm