Hamilton City Council is governed by a Mayor and 12 Councillors. They are elected every three years to make decisions and represent the needs and interests of their community. Six Councillors represent the west ward, six councillors represent the east ward and the Mayor is elected by the whole city.

In addition to voting for a Mayor and Councillors, Hamilton City electors will also vote for the Waikato District Health Board members, Waikato Regional Council members, the Electoral System for Hamilton City Council to be used in the 2016 and 2019 elections, and the Fluoride Referendum.

Local authority elections take place every three years on the second Saturday in October using the postal voting method. The elections are held under the Local Electoral Act 2001, The Local Electoral Regulations 2001, the Local Government Act 2002 and the Local Government Act 2010.

This year the elections will be held on Saturday 12 October 2013.
For more specific information on the elections, please refer to the2013 Triennial Election Timetable and the2013 Triennial Elections Fact Sheet.

Enrol to vote

Hamilton voters may vote for:
  • a Mayor and Councillors for Hamilton City Council,
  • Councillors for the Waikato Regional Council,
  • representatives for the Waikato District Health Board, and
  • Electoral System (FPP or STV)
  • Fluoride Referendum
 To vote in a local election you must be:
  • 18 years of age or over
  • enrolled as a parliamentary elector at the address where you live, or
  • enrolled as a ratepayer elector for a property you own in a different district or city from where you live.

Find out more on how to enrol or vote by visiting the elections website.

To enrol as a Ratepayer Elector please download and fill out the below form.


Information for candidates

Nominations to stand have now closed.
Detailed candidate information booklets are available from the electoral office or you can download an electronic copy below:

Waikato Regional Council members

The Waikato Regional Council is divided into six General constituencies and two Maori constituencies. Hamilton City electors will vote for either 1 Maori constituency member or 4 General constituency members.
For more information on voting or becoming a candidate for the Waikato Regional Council, please refer to the Waikato Regional Council website.

Waikato District Health Board members

Hamilton City Electors will vote for the Waikato District Health Board's 7 members which are elected 'at large' from the Waikato District Health Board area.
For more information around becoming a board member, please refer to the Waikato District Health Board website.

For more information

Find out more about elections at elections.org.nz/elections/local-elections
For further information regarding the upcoming Hamilton City Council elections, please contact the Hamilton City Council Electoral Officer at the below details:
Electoral Officer
Democracy Unit
Level 9, Council Offices
Garden Place
Phone: 07 838 6883
Page reviewed: 16 Jan 2014 2:23pm