Elected Councillors

​Mayor and Councillors

The Hamilton City Council is comprised of the Mayor and 12 councillors who represent the citizens of Hamilton. The council is elected every three years and the last election was held on 8 October 2016.

You can find their contact details and committee memberships below.


Andrew King

Hamilton Mayor
Phone: 07 838 6976
Email: andrew.king@council.hcc.govt.nz


​Andrew, a businessman with finance and automotive interests, was elected to the West Ward in 2013 and then as Mayor in 2016 – read more.​

 

Martin Gallagher

Deputy Mayor
Phone: 07 838 6980
Email: martin.gallagher@council.hcc.govt.nz


Martin returned to Council via the West Ward in 2010, after twelve years as an MP, and was appointed Deputy Mayor in 2016 – read more.​


Mark Bunting

Councillor - East Ward
Phone: 07 974 0505
Mobile:  027 808 5164
Email: mark.bunting@council.hcc.govt.nz


Mark, a well-known local broadcaster and MC, was elected as an East Ward Councillor in 2016 – read more​.​


James R Casson

Councillor - East Ward
Phone: 07 974 0506
Mobile: 027 808 5173
Email: james.casson@council.hcc.govt.nz


James, a security expert and former policeman, was elected as an East Ward Councillor in 2016 – read more.​

 

Garry Mallett

Councillor - East Ward
Phone: 021 741 021
Email: garry.mallett@council.hcc.govt.nz


Garry, a former WEL Energy Trust chair and gym owner, returned to Council via the East Ward in 2013 – read more


Rob Pascoe

Councillor - East Ward
Phone: 07 838 6519
Mobile: 021 988 742
Email: rob.pascoe@council.hcc.govt.nz


Rob, a chartered accountant, was first elected as an East Ward Councillor in 2013 – read more


Paula Southgate

Councillor - East Ward
Phone: 07 974 0508
Mobile: 021 589 957
Email: paula.southgate@council.hcc.govt.nz


Paula, a former Waikato Regional Council chair, was elected as an East Ward Councillor in 2016 – read more​.


Siggi Henry

Councillor - West Ward
Phone: 07 974 0509
Mobile: 027 808 5155
Email: siggi.henry@council.hcc.govt.nz


Siggi, a businesswoman in the health and wellbeing sector, was elected as a West Ward Councillor in 2016 – read more.

 

Dave Macpherson

Councillor - West Ward
Phone: 07 838 6438
Mobile021 477 388
Email: dave.macpherson@council.hcc.govt.nz


Dave, a former unionist and advocate, was first elected as a West Ward Councillor in 1998. [MORE TO COME]


Angela O'Leary

Councillor - West Ward
Phone: 07 974 0510
Mobile: 021 343 774
Email: angela.oleary@council.hcc.govt.nz


Angela, a former businesswoman in the hospitality sector, was first elected as a West Ward Councillor in 2007 – read more


Geoff Taylor

Councillor - West Ward
Phone: 07 974 0507
Mobile: 027 808 5170
Email: geoff.taylor@council.hcc.govt.nz


Geoff, a journalist, was elected as a West Ward Councillor in 2016 – read more.

 

Leo Tooman

Councillor - West Ward
Phone: 021 512 098
Email: leo.tooman@council.hcc.govt.nz


Leo, a former Waikato Police Road Policing Manager, was first elected as a West Ward Councillor in 2013 – read more​.


Role of elected members

 
Our elected members are responsible for:
  • law-making (bylaws) and overseeing compliance to the relevant Acts of Parliament. For example, the Local Government Act 2002.
  • developing and approving Council policy.
  • determining expenditure and funding requirements of Council through the 10-Year Plan and Annual Plan processes.
  • monitoring the performance of Council against its stated objectives and policies, particularly through the Annual Report.
  • representing the interests of Hamilton. Upon election, all members must make a declaration that they will perform their duties faithfully and impartially and according to their best skill and judgement in the best interests of the city.
  • employing the Chief Executive. Under the Local Government Act 2002, the council employs the Chief Executive who, in turn, employs all other staff on its behalf.


Contact the Governance Unit

Governance Unit
Level 9, Council Offices
Garden Place
Hamilton City Council
Private Bag 3010
Hamilton 3240

07 838 6439
hcc.governance@hcc.gov t.nz


​​​​​
Page reviewed: 30 Jan 2018 4:20pm