Civic Awards

Outstanding things are achieved every day in Hamilton, thanks in part to the invaluable work of many dedicated members of our community. Each year the Hamilton Civic Awards aim to recognise those exceptional people in our midst.

​​​​2018 nominations are now closed​​​​​​​​​

2017 Civic Awards

The Civic Awards were presented at a special ceremony in the Council Chamber on Friday 8 December 2017.

Back row left to right: Ravinder Powar, Dr Peter Rothwell, Ken Williamson, Richard Lawrence, Bill McArthur, Mark Perry, Kaye and Bernie Crosby.

Front row left to right: Rachel Wood, Anthea Simcock, Gail Gilbert, Deputy Mayor Martin Gallagher, Mayor Andrew King, Peter Humphreys, Jenevere Foreman, Jo De Lisle, Mhyre Oman. 

Photographer: Mark Walen


  • Bernie and Kaye Crosby – Services to business and the community                
  • Jo De Lisle – Services to education and the community
  • Jenevere Foreman – Services to the community
  • Gail Gilbert – Services to the community
  • Peter Humphreys – Services to social justice
  • Richard Lawrence – Services to the community
  • Bill McArthur – Services to the arts and the community
  • Mhyre Oman – Services to sport
  • Mark Perry – Services to the arts
  • Ravinder Powar – Services to the community
  • Dr Richard (Peter) Rothwell – Services to Medicine
  • Anthea Simcock – Services to the community
  • Ken Williamson – Services to education and the community
  • Rachel Wood – Services to the community
  • Marilyn Yeoman – Services to the community

Click here to view citations outlining the recipients’ contributions.

Further information can be found through the City Honours Policy. Click Here​  

Previous civic award winners

Freedom Holder of the City

The civic award of Freedom Holder of the City is the highest civic honour. Freedom holders are rare awards given to people who have made a significant and sustained contribution to the city.

Our current Freedom Holders of the City are:

  • Gordon Chesterman             ​(2016)
  • Kiingi Tuheitia ​                       (2016)
  • David Sidwell                         (2014)
  • Pippa Mahood                      (2013)
  • Sir William Gallagher           (2008)
  • John Gallagher                      (2008)
  • Ted Armstrong                      (2005)
  • Dame Malvina Major           (2001)​
  • Margaret Evans                     (1998)
  • Bob Eyeington                       (1993)
  •  Lady Rhyl Jansen                 ​ (1989)

City Ambassador

An external individual or group may be appointed to represent the interests of the city at a national or international level.

Hamilton Medal

The Hamilton Medal honours the significant achievement of individuals who have been very successful in their chosen field and who have made an outstanding contribution to the city as a whole. Only the Mayor can put forward a nomination for this award, and only one medal​ can be awarded each year.

​​​​Past Freedom Holders of the City

  • Campbell Smith                                (2014)
  • Brian Perry                                        (2005)
  • Mike Minogue                                  (1991)
  • Dr Anthony Rogers                          (1991)
  • Sir Ross Jansen                                 (1989)
  • Dr Dennis Rogers                             (1985)
  • Dr Don Llewellyn                             (1985)
  • Dame Te Atairangikaahu                (1973)
  • Harold Caro                                      (1956)
  • Hilda Ross                                         (1948)
  • Warwick Braithwaite                      (1947) 


Page reviewed: 04 Sep 2018 1:59pm