Economic Development Committee

​Chairperson:Cr Ryan Hamilton
Deputy Chairperson​:Cr Ewan Wilson
Deputy Mayor Taylor
Cr Martin Gallagher
Cr Rob Pascoe
Cr Maxine van Oosten
Cr Mark Donovan
Mayor Paula Southgate (Ex Officio)
Maangai Maaori - Olly Te Ua and Te Pora Thompson-Evans
​Frequency:As required – no less than four times a year.
A majority of members (including vacancies)

Hamilton is a city on the rise. People want to live, work, play and do business here. The city’s Gross Domestic Product (GDP), an indicator of its economic growth, has been tracking ahead of the New Zealand average since 2017 and was estimated at $8.28B in September 2019. Providing oversight for the city’s economic agenda and investment opportunities which are consistent with the Council’s vision is the role of the Economic Development Committee.

The Economic Development Committee is chaired by Cr Ryan Hamilton, with Cr Ewan Wilson as deputy. Committee members are Mayor Paula Southgate (ex-officio), Deputy Mayor Geoff Taylor, Crs Martin Gallagher, Rob Pascoe, Maxine van Oosten, and Mark Donovan, and Maangai Maaori representatives Olly Te Ua and Te Pora Thompson-Evans.

Among the committee’s responsibilities are driving and enhancing Hamilton’s economic position by actively promoting the city, as well as promoting investment and attraction of business opportunities in the wider Waikato region. The committee provides advice on economic strategic initiatives and reviews and monitors the city’s Economic Development Agenda.

It will also consider funding for Business Improvement District(s), Hamilton and Waikato Tourism and Te Waka through the Council’s Long-Term Plan process, monitor the performance of Council’s major event venues operation (H3), and approve annual event sponsorship funding applications.

The committee will make recommendations to the Council on purchase, sale or lease of properties owned by the Council or its endowment funds.​

View the full delegations and terms of reference​​

Page reviewed: 03 Sep 2021 10:28am