Environment Committee

​​Chairperson:Cr Martin Gallagher
Deputy Chairperson​:Cr Sarah Thomson
Cr Mark Bunting
Cr Angela O’Leary
Cr Kesh Naidoo-Rauf
Cr Dave Macpherson
Cr Ewan Wilson
Cr Mark Donovan
Mayor Paula Southgate (Ex Officio)
Maangai Maaori – Norm Hill
​Frequency:As required – no less than four times a year.
A majority of members (including vacancies)

​Built on the country’s mightiest river, and with many areas of green space and natural habitats for indigenous and exotic plants and animals, Hamilton is blessed with environmental treasures. Providing guidance and oversight of the Council’s strategies, policies and plans relating to the wellbeing, protection, enhancement and sustainability of the city’s natural environment is the role of the Environment Committee.

The Environment Committee is chaired by Cr Martin Gallagher, with Cr Sarah Thomson as deputy. Committee members are the Mayor (ex-officio) and Crs Mark Bunting, Angela O’Leary, Kesh Naidoo-Rauf, Dave Macpherson and Mark Donovan. The Maangai Maaori representative is Norm Hill.

The committee will develop the Council’s approach and response to the issues of climate change, the sustainable use of the city’s natural resources and the Council’s corporate environmental sustainability. Developing policies and strategies for efficient and sustainable waste management and recycling within the city, as well as guiding the Council’s biodiversity planning are also key roles.

To fulfil its purpose and terms of reference, the Committee may request expert external advice through the Chief Executive as necessary.

View the full delegations and terms of reference​​​

Page reviewed: 03 Sep 2021 10:28am