Independent Hearings Commissioners’ Panel

Chairperson:As appropriate
Deputy Chairperson​:N/A
Membership with up to three sitting at any one time (including the Chairperson, if required):
William Wasley
Simon Berry
Murray Kivell
Rebecca Macky
Russell De Luca
Richard Knott
Alan Withy
Alan Bickers
Mark Farnsworth
Loretta Lovell
Any Hamilton City Councillor or Maangai Maaori who is a Ministry for the Environment accredited RMA Commissioner
​Frequency:As required 

To undertake certain hearings under the Resource Management Act 1991 (‘RMA’), unless otherwise reserved by full Council.​

Terms of Reference:

  1. 1. The power to hear and decide any of the following RMA matters:
    a) application for a resource consent or change to conditions of resource consent;
    b) notice of objection; or
    c) notice of requirement to designate land and alter a designation; for a heritage order and alteration to a heritage order.

  2. The power to exercise all procedural powers under the RMA relevant to the matter to be heard from the date selection being confirmed by the General Manager City Growth until the date the final decision is delivered by the hearings commissioner(s).

  3. The power to select a hearings chairperson; and give the chairperson, if one is selected, a casting vote.​

Page reviewed: 02 Dec 2019 4:40pm