Council Controlled Organisations

A Council Controlled Organisation (CCO) is a Council Organisation in which one or more local authority control 50 percent or more of the voting rights, and/or have the right to appoint 50 percent or more of the directors, trustees or managers. The Council determines the objectives for each of these organisations and monitors their performance. The CCO is accountable to the Council. The Council is accountable to its ratepayers and residents for the performance of CCOs.

Hamilton City's Council Controlled Organisations 

Waikato Innovation Growth Limited and New Zealand Food Innovation Waikato Limited

Waikato Innovation Growth Limited provides business advisory services for customers, such as small and medium sized enterprises (SMEs), and High Value Manufacturing and Services (HVMS) business in the Waikato Region.

New Zealand Food Innovation Waikato Limited's core purpose is to promote and enable innovation in the food industry, both in the Waikato region and nationally.

Council has a 100% shareholding in Waikato Innovation Growth Limited and holds a 70% shareholding in its subsidiary, New Zealand Food Innovation Waikato Limited.

Waikato Innovation Park
Food Waikato

Waikato Regional Airport Limited

The core purpose of Waikato Regional Airport Limited is to be an enabler of air services to the region, operate a first class, safe, sustainable and compliant airport and enhance capital value through strategic positioning of the business.

Council has a 50% shareholding in Waikato Regional Airport Limited, with the remaining shares owned by Matamata-Piako, Otorohanga, Waikato and Waipa District Councils.

Hamilton Airport

Waikato Local Authority Shared Services

Waikato Local Authority Shared Services objective is to improve the experience of Councils' communities and staff, improve performance, reduce costs, and build trust by providing local authorities within the Waikato region, with shared services, particularly in relation to information collection and management.

Council holds 13.72% SDVS shares, 37.5% WRTM Service shares and 17.8% WRAPS shares equating to 19.6% of the total weighted value of issues shares. The balance of shares is owned by 11 other Local Authorities in the Waikato Region. Council has only one voting right out of the 12 voting local authorities.

Waikato LASS

Hamilton Properties Ltd

Although this is a non-operating company that is no longer trading, Council has retained this company with a view to utilising its tax losses in the future.

Council Organisations

Council Organisations are organisations in which one or more local authorities control any proportion of voting rights or rights to appoint trustees, directors or managers of the organisation.

New Zealand Local Government Funding Agency

The New Zealand Local Government Funding Agency Ltd (LGFA) specialises in funding the New Zealand local government sector, the primary purpose being to provide more efficient funding costs and diversified funding sources for New Zealand local authorities.

Civic Financial Services Ltd

Civic Financial Services Ltd provides superannuation services to 76 Councils through its SuperEasy and/or SuperEasy Kiwisaver scheme.

Other Council Organisations

  • Waikato Regional Transport Committee
  • Hamilton Sub-Regional Growth Strategy Joint Committee
  • Te Runanga O Kirikiriroa Joint Venture Committee – Maori partnership

Hamilton City Council and other Councils jointly control 50% or more of the votes or controlling body of the organisation. However these two organisations do not operate as a trading undertaking. These organisations are CCO and need to obtain a section 7 LGA 2002 exemption for reporting as a CCO.

  • Waikato Region Civil Defence Emergency Management Group
  • WEL Energy Trust Joint Territorial Capital Beneficiaries Working Party
Page reviewed: 02 Mar 2022 3:51pm