Triennial Agreement Waikato

​​​​The Triennial Agreement is between the Waikato Regional Council, the Hauraki, Matamata-Piako, Otorohanga, Rotorua, South Waikato, Taupō, Thames-Coromandel, Waikato, Waipa, Waitomo District Councils and the Hamilton City Council.

The Local Government Act 2002 requires the Council to enter into an Agreement with all local authorities within each region, no later than 1 March after each triennial general election.

The Triennial Agreement sets out the protocols for communication and co-ordination amongst the councils during the three year term. It also represents the shared desire of local government in the Waikato region to work together, maximise efficiency and promote well-being in their respective communities.  It recognises a significant level of formal and informal co-operation already exists between local authorities. 

The next Triennial Agreement is being developed and should be adopted in 2022.

View the current Triennial Agreement Waikato Region for 2019-2022 

Page reviewed: 19 Feb 2021 7:48am