Mayor and Councillors

​​​​​​​​​​​The Hamilton City Council is comprised of the Mayor and 12 councillors who represent the citizens of Hamilton. The council is elected every three years and the last election was held on 12 October 2019.

You can find their contact details and committee memberships below.​

​Paula SouthgateMayor Paula Southgate.jpg
Hamilton Mayor

Em​ail: paula.southgate@council.hcc.govt.nz
Phone: 07 838 6976​
Mobile: 021 589 957

Geoff Taylor​​​​
Deputy Mayor 

Emai​​​l: ​​​geoff.taylor@council.hcc.govt.nz
​Phone: 07 974 0507
Mobile: 027 808 5170

Mark Bunting
Councillor - East Ward​
Chair - Community Co
mmittee 

Email​: mark.bunting@council.hcc.govt.nz
Phone: 07 974 0505​
Mobile: 027 808 5164


Kesh Naidoo-Rauf
Councillor - East Ward
Dep
uty Chair - Community Committee

Email: ​​​kesh.naidoo-rauf@council.hcc.govt.nz
Phone: 07 974 0509
Mobile: 027 808 9075

Ryan Hamilton
Councillor - East Ward
Chair - Economic Development Committee
Deputy Chair - Strategic Growth Committee​

Email:  ryan.hamilton@council.hcc.govt.nz
Phone: 07 974 0517
Mobile: 027 278 8813

Rob Pascoe
Councillor - East Ward
Chair - Finance Committee

Email: rob.pascoe@council.hcc.govt.nz
Phone: 07 838 6519
Mobile: 021 988 742

Maxine van Oosten
Councillor - East Ward
Deputy Chair - Finance Committee

Email: maxine.vanoosten@council.hcc.govt.nz
Phone: 07 974 0506
Mobile: 027 246 8785

​ 

Margaret Forsyth​
Councillor - East Ward
Chair - Environment Committee

Email: margaret.forsyth@council.hcc.govt.nz
Phone: 07 974 0425
Mobile: 027 284 4290

Angela O'Leary
Councillor - West Ward
Chair - Infrastructure Operations Committee
Deputy Chair - Hearings and Engagement Committee

Email: angela.oleary@council.hcc.govt.nz
Phone: 07 974 0510
Mobile: 027 808 7701

Martin Gallagher
Councillor - West Ward
Chair - Hearings and Engagement Committee
Deputy Chair - Infrastructure Operations Committee

Email: martin.gallagher@council.hcc.govt.nz
Phone: 07 838 6980
Mobile: 021 241 8434                                 

Sarah Thomson
Councillor - West Ward
Deputy Chair - Environment Committee

Email: sarah.thomson@council.hcc.govt.nz
Phone: 07 974 0425
Mobile: 021 024 34312

Dave Macpherson
Councillor - West Ward
Chair - Strategic Growth Committee

Email: dave.macpherson@council.hcc.govt.nz
Phone: 07 838 6438
Mobile: 021 477 388

Ewan Wilson
Councillor - West Ward
Deputy Chair - Economic Development Committee

Email: ewan.wilson@council.hcc.govt.nz​
Phone: 07 974 0423
Mobile: 027 808 9117

Role of Elected Members

Our Elected Members are responsible for:
  • law-making (bylaws) and overseeing compliance to the relevant Acts of Parliament. For example, the Local Government Act 2002.

  • developing and approving Council policy.

  • determining expenditure and funding requirements of Council through the 10-Year Plan and Annual Plan processes.

  • monitoring the performance of Council against its stated objectives and policies, particularly through the Annual Report.

  • representing the interests of Hamilton. Upon election, all members must make a declaration that they will perform their duties faithfully and impartially and according to their best skill and judgement in the best interests of the city.

  • employing the Chief Executive. Under the Local Government Act 2002, the council employs the Chief Executive who, in turn, employs all other staff on its behalf.​

Contact the Governance Unit

Governance Unit
Level 9, Council Offices
Garden Place
Hamilton City Council
Private Bag 3010
Hamilton 3240

07 838 6439

hcc.governance@hcc.gov​t.nz​​​

Page reviewed: 06 Oct 2020 4:42pm