Mayor and Councillors

​​​​​​The Hamilton City Council is comprised of the Mayor and 12 councillors who represent the citizens of Hamilton. The council is elected every three years and the last election was held on 12 October 2019.

You can find their contact details and committee memberships below.


​Paula Southgate

Hamilton Mayor
Email: paula.southgate@council.hcc.govt.nz

​​

Geoff Taylor

Deputy Mayor 
Email: geoff.taylor@council.hcc.govt.nz

Mark Bunting

Councillor - East Ward
Email: mark.bunting@council.hcc.govt.nz


 

Kesh Naidoo-Rauf

Councillor - East Ward
Email: kesh.naidoo-rauf@council.hcc.govt.nz

Ryan Hamilton

Councillor - East Ward
Email:  ryan.hamilton@council.hcc.govt.nz

Rob Pascoe

Councillor - East Ward
Email: rob.pascoe@council.hcc.govt.nz

 ​

Maxine van Oosten

Councillor - East Ward
Email: maxine.vanoosten@council.hcc.govt.nz

Margaret Forsyth​

Councillor - East Ward
Email: margaret.forsyth@council.hcc.govt.nz

Angela O'Leary

Councillor - West Ward
Email: angela.oleary@council.hcc.govt.nz


Martin Gallagher

Councillor - West Ward
Email: martin.gallagher@council.hcc.govt.nz

Sarah Thomson 

Councillor - West Ward
Email: sarah.thomson@council.hcc.govt.nz

Dave Macpherson

Councillor - West Ward
Email: dave.macpherson@council.hcc.govt.nz

Ewan Wilson

Councillor - West Ward
Email: ewan.wilson@council.hcc.govt.nz​

 

Role of elected members

Our elected members are responsible for:
  • law-making (bylaws) and overseeing compliance to the relevant Acts of Parliament. For example, the Local Government Act 2002.
  • developing and approving Council policy.
  • determining expenditure and funding requirements of Council through the 10-Year Plan and Annual Plan processes.
  • monitoring the performance of Council against its stated objectives and policies, particularly through the Annual Report.
  • representing the interests of Hamilton. Upon election, all members must make a declaration that they will perform their duties faithfully and impartially and according to their best skill and judgement in the best interests of the city.
  • employing the Chief Executive. Under the Local Government Act 2002, the council employs the Chief Executive who, in turn, employs all other staff on its behalf.​

Contact the Governance Unit

Governance Unit
Level 9, Council Offices
Garden Place
Hamilton City Council
Private Bag 3010
Hamilton 3240

07 838 6439
hcc.governance@hcc.gov t.nz


​​​​​​
Page reviewed: 09 Dec 2019 5:15pm