Thirteen worthy recipients to receive Hamilton Civic Awards


to receive our media releases direct to your inbox.


10 December 2009

A voluntary event manager, a community constable, a zoo volunteer and the president of the Waikato Mounted Rifles Association will be amongst the recipients of the 2009 Hamilton Civic Awards.

Regarded as one of the city's highest honours, the awards will be presented to 13 worthy recipients at a ceremony in the Hamilton City Council Chambers tomorrow [Friday, 11 December] at 10am.

Hamilton Mayor Bob Simcock said the Hamilton Civic Awards are all about recognising the "exceptional people in our midst".

"These awards celebrate the dedicated members of our community whose personal commitment and generosity help to make Hamilton the great city it is," he said.

"This year's award recipients have shown outstanding civic service across a wide range of fields, including sport, art and culture, conservation, health, education, social wellbeing and enterprise."

The 2009 Civic Award recipients are:

  • Rae Cowie
  • Ismail Gamadid
  • Rei Hagan
  • Mary Hayes
  • Simon Marriott
  • Ellaby Martin
  • Gwen Nichols
  • Betty Pettigrew
  • Kees Poortman
  • Maureen Soanes
  • Gladys Stephens
  • William (Bill) Taua
  • Steve Tritt

Hamilton City Council civic event co-ordinator Lisa Pemberton said this year will also be the second year that the award recipients will be presented with a new-look solid glass award.

"The new award was created last year, with inspiration for the design drawn from the kowhai trees which traditionally adorned the banks of the Waikato River. This new-look award is now a true reflection the high calibre of this city honour," she said.

Anyone who has made an exceptional contribution to Hamilton can be nominated for a Civic Award each year, with nominations considered by the mayor, deputy mayor and chairperson of the city's Community and Environment Committee. A maximum of 20 Civic Awards are bestowed annually.

Visit for more information about the Hamilton Civic Awards.


Name: Lisa Pemberton
Designation: Civic Event Co-ordinator
Tel (Direct): 07 838 6977
Mobile: 021 472 957
Fax (Direct): 07 838 6979

Name: Kylee Bruce
Designation: Communication Executive
Tel (Direct): 07 838 6726
Mobile: 021 816 917
Fax (Direct): 07 838 6761

Page reviewed: 10 Dec 2009 12:00am