Civic Awards celebrate Hamiltonians' contributions


to receive our media releases direct to your inbox.


16 November 2015

Educators, arts identities and journalists are among the 20 recipients of the 2015 Hamilton City Council Civic Awards.

The Civic Awards are an annual fixture in the Hamilton City Council calendar, celebrating the contributions to Hamilton made by the city's residents. Recipients are nominated by members of the community, with nominations assessed by the Council. The awards are then presented in a formal event at Hamilton City Council every December.

Mayor Julie Hardaker says the awards recognise the contribution of Hamiltonians to the city’s communities, culture and heritage.

“Civic Awards are the city’s way of thanking people who have made a difference to our city and its people and for the help and support they provide.”

“Recipients are committed, hard-working and focussed individuals who regularly give up their own time and many are volunteers who will have invested countless hours to support other Hamiltonians, and they’ve done that over the course of several years.”

“It is wonderful to share these awards with the community and to say a public thank you.” 

The 2015 recipients cover a range of  professional, community and personal pursuits, and several names are included which will be familiar to Hamilton residents – among them former Waikato Times writer Denise Irvine, well-known radio broadcaster Mark Bunting, and arts promoter Mark Servian.

Mrs Irvine, Mr Bunting and Mr Servian are likely to be the most well-known recipients this year. Others to receive awards this year will be familiar names in their communities – particularly three notable women who have had careers in education.

University of Waikato’s Professor Peggy Koopman-Boyden is an internationally recognised expert in gerontology who has taught and undertaken research in the areas of social policy, demography and family sociology for more than three decades.

Professor Koopman-Boyden chairs Hamilton’s Older Person’s Advisory Panel and her knowledge and experience shine through that group.

Delwyn Bain was a mainstay of Hamilton’s Maeroa Intermediate School, having taught there for more then half a century. Thousands of children will have learnt from Mrs Bain and she will have connected with many families throughout the city through her work at the school. Similarly, Frankton Primary School’s Judy Dixon has made a huge contribution to her school and its community, and she will also be honoured having bid the school farewell earlier this year to enjoy retirement.

The awards will be presented at a special ceremony in the Hamilton City Council Reception Lounge on 11 December starting at 10am.

The full list of 2015 Hamilton Civic Award recipients:

Russell Armitage and Bruce MacKay - Services to the Environment and Community
Norm Austin - Services to Sports and Education
Delwyn Bain - Services to Education
Norm Austin - Services to Sports and Education
Mark (Bunty) Bunting - Services to Local Radio and the Community
Judy Dixon - Services to Education
Maxine Fraser - Services to the Environment and Community
Denise Irvine - Services to Journalism and the Community
Susan Jones - Services to People and Wellbeing
Dorothy Marsters - Services to People and Wellbeing
Raewyn Kirkman - Services to People and Wellbeing
Professor Peggy Koopman-Boyden (CNZM) - Services to People and Wellbeing / Education
Margaret Lowe Sun - Services to People and Wellbeing
Cyril Percival Benson Markham - Services to People and Wellbeing
Pat Matthews - Services to People and Wellbeing / Health
Dr Anis Rahman (QSO) - Services to the Muslim and Indian Community
The Venerable Reg Nicholson (MNZM) - Services to People and Wellbeing
Mark Servian - Services to the Arts and Community
Peter Stark - Services to the Community and Business
Yvonne Wilson - Services to People and Wellbeing



Jeff Neems
Communication Advisor
07 838 6509
021 818 564

Page reviewed: 16 Nov 2015 2:35pm