East Ward By-Election voting papers in the mail soon


to receive our media releases direct to your inbox.

18 January 2018


Voting papers for Hamilton City Council’s East Ward By-Election will be posted to voters across the eastern half of the city from Friday 26 January 2018.

The envelopes will start landing in mailboxes on Saturday 27 January, however with the following Monday being the Auckland Anniversary holiday, some voters may not receive their voting papers before Thursday 1 February.

If voters do not receive their papers, they should contact the Electoral Officer on 0800 922 822, after the mail has been delivered on 1 February.   

East Ward voters will then need to post in their vote by 5pm, Tuesday 13 February, or drop it in a ballot box at the Council Municipal Building, the Chartwell Library or the Hillcrest Library before voting closes at noon on Saturday 17 February.

Fifteen candidates have thrown their hats in the ring for the East Ward By-Election. They are:
Possum Allen
Meleane Burgess
Robert Curtis – Independent
Deborah Fisher
Ryan Hamilton
Horiana Henderson – Independent
Peter Humphreys – Independent
Garrick Laing – People Count
Ross Macleod
Mano Manoharan
Sarkaw Mohammad – Independent
Chris Rollitt – Independent
Matthew Small – Independent
Maxine van Oosten – Independent
Michael West.

It will be a First-Past-the-Post election, so voters will be ticking one box to vote for one Councillor. Candidates’ names will be randomly ordered on the ballot papers.

For more information on the East Ward By-Election see hamilton.govt.nz/byelection.​

Page reviewed: 18 Jan 2018 2:31pm